| 29 Sep 2011 | 02:41

    Kaitlyn Jankowski of Sparta was named to the dean’s list for the fall 2008 semester at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. She is a 2008 graduate of Pope John High School. Newton residents Bryant Hatch and Amanda Wlodarski, sophomores at Fairleigh Dickinson University’s College at Florham in Madison, are spending the spring semester studying at Wroxton College, FDU’s overseas campus in Oxfordshire, England, near Oxford and Stratford-Upon-Avon. They are majoring in history and are students in the five year teacher preparation program which leads to a master’s degree in education. Hampton Township resident Jamie LaCouture, a junior at FDU’s Florham campus in Madison, is also spending the spring semester at Wroxton College, At FDU, she is majoring in psychology and communication. Two area students graduated from Paul Smith’s College in Paul Smith, N.Y., following the fall 2008 semester. They are Hamburg resident Shaun Griffen, who earned an associate of occupational studies degree in culinary arts; and Wantage resident Ali Kulsar, who earned an associate of arts degree in liberal arts. The college is located in the Adirondack Park of New York State. Centenary College student and Lafayette resident Noel Leuzarder will compete in the “Students In Free Enterprise” (SIFE) Regional Competition, to be held in Tarrytown, N.Y. SIFE is an international organization that mobilizes university students around the world to make a difference in their communities while developing the skills to become socially responsible business leaders. Working with a faculty advisor and business advisory board, students apply business principles to develop projects that address the different needs of people in communities around the world. As a part of 10 member team, Leuzarder will present the results of itsprojects to business leaders who will evaluate Centenary SIFE based on the impact their projects have made on society. The team implemented 21 major projects in Guatemala, Mexico, Portugal, Singapore and in 15 states. Three area students have earned dean’s list honors at Saint Joseph’s University in Philadelphia for the fall 2008 semester. They are Samantha M. Evans of Hopatcong; and Sparta residents Elizabeth F. Grace and Carolyn Bieganousky. Newton resident Adam Engel, a student in the English Department of The College of New Jersey, will present his scholarly essay, “Philosophy and Literature: the Search for Truth in The Name of the Rose and ‘Library of Babel,’” and his poetry collection, “The Size of the Moon is a Lie,” at the international conference for Sigma Tau Delta, the international honor society in English, to be held in Minneapolis. The following Sussex County students at William Paterson University in Wayne have been named to the dean’s list for the fall 2008 semester: Andover residents Kelly Apgar, Jennifer Landi, Kent Patton and Stacy Ryerson; Augusta residents Arben Colaku and Casey Kayser; Branchville resident Angila Karki; Franklin residents Emily Bader, Brittany Knoll, Celeste McEwan and Haley Rutkowski; Glenwood resident Jennifer Walsh; Hamburg resident Jessica Mongiello; Highland Lakes residents Amanda Cohen, Matthew Hackett, Ellie Ufferfilge and Kimberly Williams; Hopatcong residents Amanda Grabinski, Shannon Healy, Linda Heintz, Brittany Howell and Sonia Simpson-Haughto; Newton residents Miles Austin, Nicholas DePue, Heather Giunta, Daniel King, Michael King, Katie Marsh, Matthew Rosenblum and Madeleine Zayac; Sparta residents Krista Averill, Donna Charlino and Tina-Marie Payne; Stanhope residents Nicholas Scheibner and Kimberly Zavist; Stockholm residents Kendra Bendel and Kirsten Curtis; Sussex residents Julianne Albertini, Margaret Rusticus and Raissa Lynn Sanchez; Vernon residents Jose Amon, Emily Gaydos, Casey Piccola, Christopher Pomante, Stephen Tiberi and Cara Verblaauw; and Wantage residents Leslie Coolong and Stephanie Cupo. Chelsea Card, a 2007 graduate of Lenape Valley High School, was named to the dean’s list for the fall semester at Keystone College. She is a elementary education major. Rowan College has named the following students to the dean’s list for the fall semester: Hamburg residents Thomas A. Oceanak, Jr. and Jeffrey White, II; Sussex residents Amanda Ashley, Brittany Corter, Emily Dillon and Eric Vybihil; Wantage residents Megan Bahoosh, Nina Cook and Allison Orinski; Vernon resident Anthony La Barck; Andover resident Matthew Cafaro; Augusta resident Frederick Heismeyer, IV; Branchville residents LeAnne Clausen, Joseph Havelin, Anthony Reifler and Jeff Sayre; Lafayette residents Nicole Morelli, Matthew Negri and Michael Scott; Newton residents Kelly Casanova, Emma Corcoran, Erin Freeborn, Chris Hendershot, Ellison Horacek, Matthew Kane, Kelsey Nelson, Elizabeth Palmer, Evan Pasquali, Kaitlin Perry; and Sparta residents Brandon Dock, Casey Roselle, Melissa Sullivan and Frank Zywicki.