High school lists Bloustein Distinguished Scholars

| 29 Sep 2011 | 02:10

    Sparta — Twenty students at Sparta High School were named Edward J. Bloustein Distinguished Scholars by the 2008-09 New Jersey Garden State Scholarship Program. The seniors who have earned this award are: Oliver Badaoui, William Bartling, Allison Bolger, Brynna Bolger, Catherine Brabston, Katelyn Bruffy, Vincent Cinotti, Jamie Dalcourt, Melissa Gabilanes, Nicholas Garafola, Erik Gundersen, Luke Huelsenbeck, Christine Jannuzzi, Agostino Perna, Kandace Pollison, Natalie Read, Taylor Smith, Peter Stegman, Sean Zensen and Victoria Zielenski. These students may use their $1,000 award to continue their education at New Jersey institutions of higher education. In order to qualify for the scholars program, students must be in the top 10 percent of their class and have a combined critical reading and math SAT score of at least 1260, or be ranked first, second or third in their class, as of the end of the junior year. This year more than 5,000 students in the state were selected.