Two scholarships awarded by retired educators

| 29 Sep 2011 | 03:25

Newton — The Sussex County Retired Educators Awarded two $1,000 scholarships to two graduating seniors who are planning to become educators. Amy McConnell of Hopatcong, who is graduating from Sussex County Technical school received the John Jay Boeren Scholarship. She plans to first attend Sussex County Community College. Michael Jetter of Fredon, who is graduating from Kittatiny Regional High School, received the Warren D. Cummings award. He plans to attend Rutgers University. The awards were presented by President H. Ralph Smith at a recent luncheon. Arlene Hartman chaired the scholarship committee assisted by Marie Keeler, Shirley Smith and Toni Soderholm. The Sussex County Retired Educators is open to all retired educators who taught or reside in Sussex County. Members receive four newsletters annually and can attend its four luncheons where information about pensions and health benefits is shared. Annual dues are $10 and lifetime dues are $100. To join, call treasurer Ann C. Lane at 973-209-4129.