New year brings new jobs

| 22 Feb 2012 | 07:50

    Freshman council member joins veterans FRANKLIN — Even though the icy precipitation turned the roads outside into skating rinks, inside Franklin’s Borough Council warmly began its 2009 agenda by greeting one newcomer and making numerous appointments last Tuesday night. Donna Miller was administered the oath of office to Borough Council, officially replacing Jim Williams, who had served four previous council terms. Miller also had served 21 years on the planning board before stepping down at the end of 2008. (See related story.) Miller was appointed to four council committees, including administrative, public utilities, personnel and negotiations, and public safety. “It’s a little surreal sitting up here, let me tell you,” Miller said to a large public gathering that braved the icy conditions outside to attend the meeting. “I promise you I will do the best job I’m capable of doing.” Also receiving the oath of office was Mark Zschack and Jack Stoll. Zschack begins his own three-year term after he was appointed to the council last June to fill an unexpired term. Stoll, who had been re-appointed to fill an unexpired term last March, won his own two-year term in November. Signs of the times Council members and Mayor Paul Crowley warned that the weak economy nationwide would not make things any easier for Franklin in 2009. “We have a sagging economy federally,” said councilman Joe Limon, who will join Miller on the personnel and negotiations committee, along with Zschack, Pat Barton and the mayor. James G. Devine was appointed Franklin’s new municipal judge. Zschack was named council liaison to the planning board. John Cholminski, Robert B. Olesky, Wes Suckey and Ronald J. Maugeri were reappointed to the planning board. Richard Kell, Liz Bonis and John Kopcso were reappointed to the zoning board of adjustment. Richard R. Wolak, the borough administrator since July 2004, will continue in that capacity for 2009 and he will serve as the borough’s public agency compliance officer. Accordingly, Wolak will serve on the local emergency planning council, along with Crowley, police chief Joseph A. Kistle, Mike Gunderman, James Carroll, Donald Stoll, Scott Rogoff, Grant Rome, Steven Sluka and former councilman Dayne Hill. Carroll will also be the borough’s fire chief in 2009, while William Lanham will be the Wallkill Valley First Aid Squad president.